Open APIs

View Only
Expand all | Collapse all

Differences between ProductSpecification and ProductSpecificationRef?

• 1.  Differences between ProductSpecification and ProductSpecificationRef?

TM Forum Member
    Posted Sep 13, 2022 10:02
    Edited by Ibiso Partington Sep 13, 2022 10:11
    Hi,

Apologies, I'm new to the TMF 620 Open API Specification.

I'd like to understand the difference between the ProductSpecification and ProductSpecificationRef resources.

Is the ProductSpecification the definition of the product itself and ProductSpecificationRef the definition of the connection between the Product Offering and ProductSpecfication? i.e. does the "name" attribute apply to the link itself and not to the name of the product specification? Also, what does targetProductSchema refer to?  And how it is different from @schemaLocation?

Perhaps I could also extend this question to the differences between ProductSpecificationRef and ProductSpecificationRelationship. What is the difference between Ref and Relationship in TMF? As we read the documentation, it looks like Ref is used for when two different types of entity are linked together, e.g. ProductOffering to ProductSpecification is ProductSpecificationRef. Also, it looks like Relationship is used when linking together the same type if entities, e.g. ProductSpecification to ProductSpecification is ProductSpecificationRelationship. Please confirm if this understanding is correct.

Thanks,

Ibiso

------------------------------
    Ibiso Partington
    Hansen Technologies

• 2.  RE: Differences between ProductSpecification and ProductSpecificationRef?

TM Forum Member
    Posted Sep 14, 2022 04:39
    Edited by Matthieu Hattab Sep 14, 2022 04:50

acronyms: PO = product offering; PS = product specification; POP = product offering price

Is the ProductSpecification the definition of the product itself and ProductSpecificationRef the definition of the connection between the Product Offering and ProductSpecfication?