Open APIs

View Only
  • 1.  TMF634 vs TMF639 - Fetch list of available MSISDN from the system

TM Forum Member
    Posted Dec 07, 2022 09:29
    Dear TM Forum Community,

I am new to Telecom & TMF Open APIs and have the use-case to fetch list of available MSISDN / Mobile Numbers from our system

Based on my reading of the TMF Specs, TMF634 has ResourceSpecification (Physical) entity which could map to a physical SIM card (MSISDN) and Resource Category will be the category of that number - Gold, Silver, Platinum, etc

TMF639 has the Resource Entity which seems to map better to a physical msisdn (sim card) but the use-cases in API User Guide seems to indicate it's only for MSISDNs already allocated to a Party/Customer. We instead wish to display the available mobile numbers for reservation, but I noticed even the ResourceSpecification entity has RelatedParty reference

Could you please clarify if TMF634 suits better for fetching the available msisdn? Or TMF639/Other
    Any document recommendation for better familiarizing around the TMF specs to use for related use-case (fetch, reservation, cancellation, etc) will also be helpful 

Thanks You!

------------------------------
    Nikhil Rana
    Optiva Inc.

• 2.  RE: TMF634 vs TMF639 - Fetch list of available MSISDN from the system

TM Forum Member
    Posted Dec 08, 2022 03:41
    Hi Nikhil

Some clarifications:
    • TMF634 is resource catalog, this defines the types of resources, so what does it mean to be an MSISDN, a fiber router, a network element, etc. No information in this API about resource instances
    • TMF639 is resource inventory, this holds all resource instances actually in use, either assigned to customers or for other internal network element use
    Neither of these match your use case.

Two other APIs present themselves:
    • TMF685 Resource Pool management - this seemingly may matche your use case, but it is somewhat difficult to use.