Open APIs

View Only
  • 1.  Would you consider productOrder a task resource?

TM Forum Member
    Posted 7 days ago
    Edited by Ilyas Premji 7 days ago

I have some experience with TMF APIs by now and I'm reading through TMF630 REST API Guidelines in more detail.

I stumbled upon 1.1. API Resource Archetypes. It provides TroubleTicket and ProductOrder as an example for for managed resources and ProductOfferingQualification as an example for task resources. Now, I'd argue that most (every?) Tasks are managed resources. Since I had a discussion recently that went a bit in a similar direction, a clarification would be nice of things that are managed resources, but not tasks.

I'd argue the that the following characteristics are probably a task and not only a manged resource

• if it has a state field, it's probably a task
    • if you create it and expect it to be different after a given time, it's probably a task
    • if you create and and expect the implicit creation/deletion/modification of another resource, it's probably a task

Managed resources, that are not tasks: productSpecification, agreement.

Now, since ProductOrder is resourced between collection and managed resource, but isn't mentioned again as an example for tasks, I wonder if i'm missing something.

Note that 1.1 mentions ProductOfferingQualification as an example for a Task, which is an exception to "should be a verb" from 8.1.

------------------------------
    Omar Sood
    Code monkey at conology

• 2.  RE: Would you consider productOrder a task resource?

TM Forum Member
    Posted 6 days ago

Hi Omar

I hear what you are saying, and on one level you could argue that all the <xxxx>Order entities are task entities. There's no doubt that they have state, and they manage the processing of other entities (product, service, resource). However, there is one important distinction, which is that an order is an entity that has business significance by itself.